Sunday, December 21, 2008

Jim Thorpe Classic Champs!

Let this serve notice to the rest of the SEC - the Arkansas Razorbacks are Jim Thorpe Classic champs.

We are Jim Thorpe Classic champs and you are not.

Partying commenced well into the night after this championship which ranks right up there with the 1994 national championship. In fact, plans are already in the works to bring back this team during the 2023 season. By that time, we will have won 15 of these and a couple of national championships under Pelphrey.

The Hogs staked their claim to the trophy bearing the name of the famous Oklahoman athlete after steamrolling through Stephen F. Austin last night in Bud Walton Arena 67-51.

Step One: Win Jim Thorpe Classic championship. Check.
Step Two: Win SEC West
Step Three: Win SEC Tourney
Step Four: Win NCAA Tourney

Michael Washington was MVP after going for 17 pts. and 13 boards against Stephen F. which followed his 24 and 12 effort against the Governors of Austin Peay.

This year it was an "Austin" sweep as the Hogs took down Austin Peay on Wednesday before last night's win over Stephen F. Austin. Next year, I say bring in Duke and North Carolina.

The all-tournament team looked like this:
Michael Washington, Arkansas - MVP
Courtney Fortson, Arkansas
Stefan Welsh, Arkansas
Josh Alexander, Stephen F. Austin
Matt Kingsley, Stephen F. Austin
Drake Reed, Austin Peay

How I voted:
Michael Washington, Arkansas - MVP
Courtney Fortson, Arkansas
Stefan Welsh, Arkansas
Rotnei Clarke, Arkansas
Jason Henry, Arkansas
John Pelphrey, Arkansas

(An Arkansas fan burns his couch in celebration of the Jim Thorpe Classic championship. He was admitted to a hospital later with burns, but is doing just fine.)

Next up for the Hogs: Saturday, Dec. 27th, vs. NW (La.) State

No comments: